Last Sunday at Waikerie`s Sunline Speedway the inaugural meeting of Speedway Karts at the venue was held with 18 drivers involved and getting in some much needed track time ahead of the Australian titles set down for the Anzac weekend at the Waikerie track.

Winners in each class were Alan Garbut in Sub Juniors, Benjamin Morris in Juniors, Mitch Gladman in Standards, Mark Burford in Modifieds, Lee Payne in 125cc and Annie Payne in Outlaws.

This event has been organised by the re-formed Australian Speedway Karting Association with Sunline Speedway and karts have entered from all over Australia. Already nominations include drivers from as far away as Queensland, Northern Territory, NSW, Victoria and SA. A few locals are racing including Waikerie`s Jason Wilson and as seen the in form Loxton pair of Lee and Annie Payne.

Amongst those from interstate will be outstanding 21 year old Victorian Taleesha Mayes driving in the Standard and Outlaw classes who is the current Victorian and SA champion as well as the winner iof the Allpower Nationals in Victoria. Then there is 19 year old Ayden Elliot from Queensland who has a couple of titles to his name and to show that age is no barrier to the sport Mildura`s Bob Allen, 74, will be a starter amongst classes of sub juniors starting at eight years.

The 24th to 26th April will involve scrutineering on the Friday night and practice followed by a Welcome Dinner at the Waikerie Hotel. On Saturday the first three rounds of heats will be run with the final heats and feature races on Sunday. Gates open at 10am with racing commencing at 3pm both days. Like all speedway events and unlike other karting events heat racing determines the starting positions for the feature race only with the winner of that race being crowned Australian Champion. Heat race points take no part in the final outcome.

With 4×8 lap heat races and a 15 lap feature race across seven divisions the action will be full on.

The next major event for Speedway Karts in this region will be at Mildura Allpowers Nationals on May 16th followed by the South Australian titles on May 16th at Renmark.