Riverland finished runner up to Gawler 231 points to 219 at last month`s SAPSASA State Country Athletics Championships at Santos Stadium in Adelaide.
Barossa was third on 193 points.
This was an outstanding performance by the Riverland team of 59 athletes as there were 20 SAPSASA districts represented at the event.
Riverland competed in every event in four track (100m, 200m, 800m and relays) and four field (high jump, long jump, shot put and discus) in four age groups (10,11,12 and 13 years).
Apart from praising the efforts of the young athletes both for their on field performances and also as great representatives of their schools and district officials commented on the fantastic support from parents and some expert coaching.
Melissa Leach (Waikerie Primary School) was team coach, and Liz Pendle (Renmark West), Richard Coot (Berri), Romanna Luethke(St Josephs, Renmark), Anthony Rothe (Renmark North) and Rob Johnson all had specialist roles.
Many Riverland athletes achieved personal bests at the championships.
Also Riverland reached seven of the eight finals in relays and medallin all seven.Unfortunately the Under 13 Boys won their heat but were disqualified.
Gold medals were won by Connie Doupis (Barmera), Amy Charles (Loxton), David Amaechi (Loxton Lutheran), Steven Parfitt (Waikerie), Benny Schuetze (St Josephs, Renmark), the 11 year old girls relay team of Tessie Mitchell (Moorook), Kelson Rossack (Berri), Jade Schmitt (Morgan) and Anna Son (Renmark) and 11 years boys relay of Sam Allder (Barmera), Patrick Minchella (Our Lady Of The River, Berri), Saxton Caddy Mitchell (Monash) and Kobi Thompson (Loxton).
Taking out silver medals were Jessie Wooldridge (Loxton Lutheran), Caleb Schaefer (Loxton Lutheran), Aiden Prokopec (St Josephs, Renmark), Saxton Caddy Mitchell (Monash), Mandiner Ark (Monash),the 10 year girls relay of Tahlia Drogemuller (Loxton), Matilda Rothe (Renmark North), Macy Wright (Loxton Lutheran) and Connie Doupis (Barmera) and 12 year girls relay of Tilly Albrecht (Kingston On Murray, Olivia Vivian (Loxton), Felicity Evans (Renmark) and Mare Hartwig (Loxton).
With bronze medals were Anna Son (Renmark), Vi Vu (Renmark), Dion Brauer (St Josephs, Renmark), the 12 year boys relay of Benny Schuetze (St Josephs, Renmark), Isaac Woolston (Monash), David Amaechi (Loxton Lutheran) and Evan Gregoric (OLOR, Berri) and 13 year girls relay of Vi Vu (Renmark), Letisha Fewquandie (Renmark West), Chelsea Foulds (OLOR, Berri) and Amy Charles (Loxton).