RIVERLAND football for 2014 kicked off on Anzac Day with both the A Grade and Independent games turning up reversals of the results of the 2013 Grand Finals.
At Loxton North in the A competition the Barmera Monash Roos hopped away to a six goals to two first term then had the Panthers claw their way to the front late in the quarter before steadying and with some late goals going on to win 14-5 (89) to 9-9 (63). Outstanding for Barmera Monash were Dillon Millard, Josh Buchecker, Anzac Day Medal winner in inspirational skipper Matt Leyson and with four goals apiece Sam Butterworth and Adam Grose.
For Loxton North Ben Walter, new recruit Scott Meneghetti and captain Josh Nelson did best.
At Loxton visitor Waikerie increased on a three point lead over the Tigers at the last change to defeat the Tigers 14-9 (93) to 13-7 (85).
The Magpies were best served by Glen Schrieber, 7 goal man Damian Stevens and newcomer Adam Braendler and Loxton by evergreen Leigh Kruger, Ryan Smith and John Fisher while Ryan Nickolls booted four goals.
At Berri Renmark made it three out of three for visiting teams when it booted an inaccurate 16-23 (119) to beat its host Berri 10-10 (70).
Berri had led 6-5 to 4-15 at the long break but in the end the Rovers with the likes of Jaryd Rowe, Trevor Thorpe and Shane Walker continuing on from their fine 2013 form were too strong. Best for the Demons were Clint Ridgway, Adam Beauchamp and Greg White.
B Grade scores were Loxton North 12-7 (79) to Barmera Monash 8-7 (55), Renmark after a six goal to nil first term 9-5 (59) to Berri 5-4 (34) and Waikerie 16-10 (106) to Loxton 8-8 (56).
To the Under 18`s Barmera Monash (Steve Sullivan best) 8-5 (53) won against Loxton North (Matthew Lidgerwood) 4-4 (28), Renmark (Fraser Peters) defeated Berri (Josh Ekissa) 11-15 (81) to 3-6 (24) and Waikerie, with young cricket star Tristan Geehman making a brilliant transformation in sports and perhaps pushing for a senior berth defeated Loxton (Kenny Riley) 10-20 (80) to 3-1 (19).
In Under 15 Barmera Monash (Riley Wallace) defeated Loxton North (Ceejay Inglis) 10-10 (70) to 5-3 (33), Renmark (Lachlan Lellmann) 11-9 (75) beat Berri (Antonios Zahos) 5-12 (42) and Waikerie (Jack Parfitt) defeated Loxton (Drew Kassulke) 24-11 (155) to 0-4 (4).
The Under 13`s had Loxton North (Tyson Kent) beat Barmera Monash (Dillon Vandergiessen) 10-10 (70) to 2-3 (15), Berri (Jasper Hoffmann) beat Renmark (Dion Brauer) 10-9 (69) to 2-1 (13) and Waikerie 11-14 (80) with a fine team effort defeat Loxton (Leon-Anthony Mills) 2-1 (13).
INDEPENDENT`s Anzac Day game at Renmark resulted on Blanchetown Swan Reach coming from behind to defeat 2013 champion Paringa 8-11 (59) to 7-7 49).
Best players for BSR were Dale Payne, Alex Birch and Matthew Mattner and for the Swans Zac Frahn, Sam Frahn and Chris Gardner.
Then on Saturday we saw a lot of new look teams take to the park with Browns Well, Moorook Kingston and Cobdogla the winners.
Browns Well 22-16 (148) won against Wunkar 9-13 (67) with the Bombers` best Mark McConnell , Ash Smith with 6 goals and Matthew Hampel and the Bulldogs` Omar Winen, Simon Atkinson and Shane Schulz.
Moorook Kingston with 12-19 (91) was too good for returnee side Lyrup 9-7 (61) with Terry Packer, Ben Knispel and Brett Smith best for the Warriors and for the Lions the stand outs Dyllan Clarke, Travis Wilson and Callan Thiele and Cobdogla (Zach Walker, Thomas DeJager, Jordan Roissetter) made a good start to 2014 with a 14-13 (97) to 10-3 (63) win over Ramco (Cameron Hawke, Ben Jones, Nathan Hart).
In the MALLEE A Grade`s second round on Saturday Peake made it two from two when it broke clear fron 5-7 to 5-2 at half time to defeat Karoonda 14-19 (103) to 6-7 (43).
The best players for Peake were Gabe Phillips with 6 goals, R Sargood and M Baker and for the Magpies Corey Knight, J Woodward and J Graetz.
In other matches Lameroo 15-16 (106) won against Pinnaroo 9-9 (83) after trailing at the first change. Haydon Thorpe, T Caulfield, M Ridgway starred for the Hawks and J Stringer, C Nickolls and Alex Keough for Pinnaroo.
At the same time BDT the reigning premier did not do it easy against Murrayville finally winning 10-9 (69) to 7-6 (48) after trailing by 9, 2 and 4 points at the intervals. Lachie Richardson with support from A Stidiford and Josh Keller was the match winner for the Crows while for a brave opponent the stand outs were C Gates, Rian Crane and M Worsman.
In the Reserves Pinnaroo 12-7 (79) defeated Lameroo 8-7 (55), Peake 14-20 (104) defeated Karoonda 3-1 (19) and BDT won 20-14 (134) to Murrayville 2-3 (15).
To the Senior Colts BDT (with A Stidiford starting a busy afternoon, C Anderson, B Binns best) won from Murrayville (R Lewis, M Beer, D Moore) 14-13 (97) to 7-6 (48), Lameroo (Premier Sports “Young Gun” Charlie Hay, S Nassif, S Nassif) 25-11 (161) beat Pinnaroo (J Sharrad, S Dabinett, S Hannam) 8-10 (58) and Karoonda (J Smithson, B Stone, M DeIonno) won against Peake (S Heym, B Kielow, K Judd) 13-6 (84) to 8-7 (55).
In Junior Colts Pinnaroo (T Wurfel, J Vogt, J Matiwane) defeated Lameroo (F Nel, CNassif, T Zerk) 13-9 (87) to 1-0 (6), Peake ( M Pederick, T Heym, M Gogel) defeated Karoonda (E Wegner, N Whelan, H Somersales) 14-9 (93) to 1-0 (6) and BDT (S Callery, D Borchardt, C Manning)– Murrayville (K Milde,B Henderson, B Milde)11-9 (75) to 2-0 (12).