In a rematch of last season’s Wednesday Pennant Bowls grand finalists Renmark repeated the exciting victory that gained it the 2015/16 title.

Renmark won all three rinks this time but the final score was only 59-53. In an unusual score line Sandi Schulz’ rink  defeated Jenny Kubank 18-17, Betty Coombs defeated Jo Price 19-17 and Jocie Cooper won 23-19 over Jan Grosser.

Loxton had its first win for the season two rinks to one 59-54 against Waikerie. For Loxton Bernie Mattner defeated Dawn Boehm 20-15 and Margaret Schutz won 28-11 against Judy Strauss. Tim Strauss made up some ground for Waikerie winning 28-11 against Lyn Kimber.

Lyrup meanwhile went to its second straight win 67-51 defeating Renmark RSL. Sue Lloyd’s four defeated Ini Proud 32-13 in a match winning display as Sharon Nattrass lost to Cathy Topperwein narrowly 19-20 and Ros Smith went down to Maria Spano 16-18.

In Second Division Berri (L Blades 26, S Facci 30, K Tanner 18) won all three rinks in beating Renmark RSL (J Trezise 16, C Brown 10, M Williams 16) 74-42, Loxton 69 (J Badcock 25, D Mcrae Wood 26, R Auricht 18) defeated Loxton RSL 58 (J Smith 19, T Fisher 18, H Dreschler 21) and Monash won a cliff hanger against Waikerie 57-56. R Potts and M Carrera tied 20-20, M Morrow lost to J Gaeta 17-22 and G Voigt 20 won against A Schepel 14.

Barmera (T Daelman 29, K Dougherty 17) won against Loxton RSL (R Manuel 16, E Manuel 27) 46-43 in Division Three , Moorook (L Tschirpig 29, C Voigt 11) won 40-34 against Renmark (N Wurst 15, J O’Loughlin 19) and Renmark RSL beat Berri 40-26. A Patton 22 won 22-15 over J Carpenter and M Phillis 18-11 against V Bishop.

Renmark is the only undefeated team in First Division.