Loxton Blue scored a comfortable 104-59 victory over bottom side Renmark RSL last Saturday to retain fourth spot on the First Division Men`s Pennant ladder and it will now play Waikerie in the knock out first semi final this week.
At the same time the other finals candidate Loxton RSL scored a 89-71 win over Barmera although, like Loxton Blue the week before, it shared the rinks with the same competitive opponent.
In other matches Waikerie had a great finals preparation by defeating second ranked Renmark 89-70 and Berri, the top side, cruised to a 86-58 won over Loxton Red.
In the four rinks to nil win by Loxton Blue over Renmark RSL Brad Semmler`s team beat Ken Knight 22-17, Trevor Schulz – David Rice 32-13, Peter Kimber – Ken Smith 24-18 and Bruce Schubert – Ray Sutton 26-11.
In the Loxton RSL victory Trevor Wurst won 21-18 against Denis Wutke, Graeme Huppatz went down to John Morena 21-20, Jade Wright beat David Mills decisively 31-12 and Lew Westrook lost to Phil Ashton 20-17.
For Waikerie in its three rinks to one win over Renmark Gary Pursche lost to John Thompson 22-20, Roger Davies defeated Steve Ivanovic 23-13, Wayne Collins – David Bollenhagen 26-18 and Andrew Fulwood –  Bill Dopson 21-17 while in Berri`s victory Dennis Treloar beat Terry Schliebs 24-15, Graham Butt – Terry Thurston 17-14, Mark Kubank – Mike Nugent 24-11 and Andrew Hill – John Vaughan 21-14.
Berri, Renmark, Waikerie and Loxton Blue are in the premiership race.
In Second Division last Saturday—-
—Loxton Blue d Barmera 80-35.
—Renmark Gold d Berri Red 81-58.
—Waikerie d Berri Blue 61-55.
—Moorook d Loxton RSL 63-54.
—Monash d Renmark Green 66-55.
—Lyrup d Loxton Green 67-37.
With the RBA deciding to “go AFL” the top eight in second and third division will go into a major round.
In Second Division these will be in order—Monash, Loxton Blue, Renmark Gold, Moorook, Lyrup, Waikerie, Renmark Green and Berri Red.
—Saturday`s Third Division results were—-
—Lyrup d Barmera Red 79-35.
—Moorook d Loxton RSL Blue (forfeit).
—Waikerie Gold d Loxton Orange 68-39.
—Barmera Gold (12th) d Renmark (5th) 59-46.
—Waikerie Blue d Loxton Purple 53-40.
—Monash White (4th) d Berri Red (3rd) 56-55.
—Monash Maroon d Berri Blue 57-51.
Finalists will be Waikerie Gold, Waikerie Blue, Berri Red, Monash White, Renmark, Lyrup, Monash Maroon and Loxton Orange.
In other Men`s Bowls news the Champion Of Champion fours titles were decided at Waikerie last Sunday.
In Division One a Berri rink of Graham Butt (skipper), Wayne Barnett, Cliff Miller and Graeme King won the final from Waikerie 15-10 while Division Two went to Lyrup (Steve Munro, sk, Graham Milich, Bob Tankard, Mario Minchella) 13-4 against Waikerie.
Third Division saw Waikerie runner up again when it went down narrowly 11-10 to a Moorook rink comprising skipper Graeme Baird, John Sutherland, Lesley Hopper and Michael Gardellini.
As reported previously the Prestige Medleys involving men`s and women`s teams from all 12 Country and Metropolitan regions and the Schroeter and Kennedy Shield Country versus City matches will be held at Victor Harbor at the end of this week.
Kerry Treloar is in the SA Country Women`s team while in the men`s team will be Andrew Hill (Berri) and in form Barossa skipper Justin Morris.
Also of Riverland interest will be the appearance of former Berri residents Claire and Steve Eichenberger (now Yorke Peninsula) in the SA Country side and another former local junior James Gregory (West Lakes) in the Metropolitan team.
Victor Harbor this weekend will also see a Country versus City Under 18 clash for the Kenn Rogers Shield.
Loxton junior Tamzin Jenke will skipper in both triples and fours in the girls team with her brother Gerrin to play singles and skipper the triples and another club mate Jacob Taylor to play in both pairs and fours in the boys.
And In an exciting new tournament being launched by the Waikerie Bowling Club entries for the fours competition will be capped at 24 teams with all of them to share in the $5,000 in prize money.
The Sutton Ford $5,000 Fours And Skins event will be held on Saturday and Sunday 24th and 25th May with entries to close on 19th May.
The entry fee is $ 240 per team with all enquiries to be directed to Andrew Fulwood 0428412202.
The rich tournament is expected to fill quickly with the field to be in accordance with the order the entries are received