Will Lehmann, the highly promising Loxton fast bowler, was selected in the “Team of the Year” at the annual SACA Country Cricket Carnival in Adelaide last week.
Will captured 9 wickets in the three matches played at an average of 8.33 and at an economical rate of 3.24 runs per over and played an important role in Murray Districts Barrier’s improved performance to finish runner up to South East for the championship.
His best return was 4 for 19.
Looking at the MDB performances at the Carnival it again failed to have a player amongst the best with the bat.
Pinnaroo & Border’s Haydon Thorpe did best to finish 12th with an aggregate of 84 at 28.00 but he scored 62 of his runs in one innings. It was much the same for skipper Jarrod Paull, (Broken Hill),15th, with 83 at 27.67 but 57 in one knock.Loxton pair Josh Deren finished 28th and 29th. Deren scored 54 runs, had a top score of 22 and averaged 18 and Albrecht scored 51 in total with a top score of 30 at an average of 17.
In the bowling where Will Lehmann finished second, Paul Attard. the 45 year old Broken Hill war horse finished 8th with his 5 for 33 in the second game giving him six wickets overall and another Broken Hill team member, leg spinner Matthew Hanberg, finished with five wickets including a 4 for 42 in the final.
Broken Hill players Attard who was 6th, Hanberg 14th, wicketkeeper Tobias Hack 16th, Codie Howard and Paull dominated the fielding for MDB although Duane Simon from Parrakie got into 11th place.