Loxton RSL, one of the preseason favourites for the 2015/16 First Division Saturday Pennant Bowls premiership, had its first win for the season when it defeated Barmera by one shot, 79-78 in round four. The RSL side won three rinks Lew Westbrook defeating Gerrin Jenke 20-16, Geoff Huppatz beating Phil Ashton 23-15 and Steve Roberts, Ray Kuchel 21-16 but John Morena’s 32 to 15 win over Jade Wright very nearly squared the ledger for Barmera.

Despite only winning one rink Waikerie retained top position with a 80-76 win against Berri which is still feeling the absence of so many key players from its 2014/15 premiership lineup. Wayne Collins’ rink drew with Ken Stokes 20 apiece, Brian Burnett defeated Andrew Hill 26-11, Roger Davies lost 13-23 to Graham Butt and Andy Fulwood went down to Andy Gapco 21-22.

Renmark was again firing on all cylinders at home and moved to within one point of Waikerie byclearly outpointing Loxton 91-61. Rick Stoeckel won 21-16 against Neil Thiele, Sean Leesue 27-14 over Harold Appleton, Chris Karantonis  26-14 against Des Schliebs and Bill Dopson and Brian Bullock drew 17-17.

In Second Division Renmark remained at the top of the ladder undefeated after it won 67-52 against Loxton Yellow. R Minge defeated D Thomson 27-18, T Schulz lost to B Thiele 14-18 and D Leedle won 26-16 from D McRae-Wood. Second ranked Waikerie won 69-45 against Loxton RSL with W Haby defeating W Lindsay 20-16, P Voigt beating J Thiele 20-17 and D Thompson, R Ray 29-12. Berri Blue, third, had a tough battle against Lyrup, 10th, with B Harrington defeated by D Wainwright 19-25, L Seltitzas going down to S Munro 14-20 but L Facci saving the day with a 26-10 victory against N Leach for a 59-55 win overall. Renmark RSL won 62-58 against Moorook and Monash, fourth,  in a close one 55-53 against Barmera 11th. M Voigt’s rink beat K Carter 28-15, P Brennan lost to W Uppington 15-22 and I Potts lost to T Brown 12-16. Loxton Blue won 70-45 over Berri Red. J Willett defeated G Vandermyle 21-13, T G A Wachtel beat R Grosser 27-21 and B Schubert defeated J Grosser 22-11.

In Third Division Green ladder leader Loxton RSL just scraped in against Loxton, fourth, 60-58. C Hampel lost to P Thom 14-25, K Ward defeated A Kappemick 19-17 and M Schutz won 27-16 against J Vaughan. Waikerie, second, amassed a cricket score in beating Moorook 101-31. J Mortimer won 38-8 against C Voigt, D King 34-7 from D Fieldhouse and B Wiese 29-16 from L Tschirpig. Berri with S Facci losing to S Nattrass 19-24, J Bradford beating N Nattrass 26-11 and G Meyer, J Letton 23-11 won against Lyrup 69-46 and Renmark 76 defeated Monash 50. M Nitschke beat S Voigt 29-17, J O’Loughlin won 27-15 from R Jury and S Hume 20-19 from S Elsdon 20-18. Barmera won 60-48 against Renmark RSL. M Robinson drew with W Weidenhofer 21  each,  B Frost beat K Brown 20-13 and I Lloyde defeated D Van Dam 19-14.

To Third Division Gold Waikerie is again on top and accounted for Barmera 78-45 with J Smith winning 23-14 over J Cock, H Mortimer 22-19 over J Rolfe and R Cain 33-12 against G Moate. Loxton had R Firstbrook go down to M Weisse 13-29, R Braddock defeat T Guerin 30-11 and P Vaughan defeat A Coates 27-11 on an overall 70-51 victory against Renmark. Monash 64 defeated Berri 50 with M Wood defeating K Tanner 24-10, P Grocke, R Cooper 33-10 and R Scott losing to W Ahrens 7-30.