In Division One of the SA Secondary Schools 2016 Athletics Championship in Adelaide Loxton High School finished third overall with 598 points behind Mercedes 635 and Brighton 604.
Loxton won the championship in 2015.
This year it was third in the girls and fourth in the boys divisions.

In Division Two Renmark ended up third with 577 points and Glossop eighth on 489. The competition was won by Bordertown 639 points with Cornerstone second on 586.

Loxton’s high position was gained by an even performance across the team with a host of top three performances.
Emmy Haslett with a win in both the Under 14 and Under 16 girls high jumps led the way.
Other team members to win events were Nova Rolevink in open girls discus, Meg Schultz in Under 14 javelin, Portia Size in Under 14 100 metres and Tilly Albrecht in Under 14 hurdles.
Amongst the boys event winners were Clay Kingdon in Under 15 200 metres, Riley Stasinowsky Under 14 high jump, Arty Johnson Under 15 discus and Sam koop in Under 14 javelin.
Athletes to win silver medals were Erin Holmes with 2, Tilly Albrecht, Clay Kingdon, Tyson Kent, Bradon Dunning, Aiden Awege, Reece Lehmann, Brooke Reichelt, William Gutsche, Jessie Wooldridge, Elle Will and Kaylee Vowles.
Kingston On Murray’s Tilly Albrecht completed a set of medals by winning bronze, along with Blake Hampel and Amy Charles each two, Colby Jachmann, Sam Koop, Aiden Awege, Bradley Beswick, Reece Lehmann, Austin Hampel, Tiarna Inglis, Alyca Ottewill, Dora Blieschke, Cassuarina Frahn, Erin Holmes, Marlee George and Laura Martin.

In Renmark’s performance in Division Two victories in events went to Dion Braun in both Under 15 boys triple jump and high jump, Simon Crouch in Under 16 long jump, Clayton Price, Under 15 long jump, Jack Richards, open discus, Anton Motto Under 16 discus and Benedict Schuetze in Under 14 discus.
Among the Renmark girls Brooke Webb secured a double in the open 800 and 1,500 metre events and Christie Webb in the Under 15 1,500 metres and open 1,000 m steeplechase.
Abbey Perry won the open high jump, Tenesha Venables the Under 14 shot put and Emily Castle the open girls javelin.

Glossop High also boasted some outstanding individual performances.Taso Bantolas won the Under 16 boys 100 metre sprint, Zac Hamood the Under 15 boys 200m,Jason Westley the Under 15 400 metres and Jarid McKee the 100 m hurdles.
In the longer races Tylor Velvet won the open boys 1,500 metres.

The Riverland schools also did well in a number of relay races through the age divisions.