The Mallee Football League held its 2016 Mail Medal Dinner at Karoona Football Club last Saturday.

Topping the voting in the A Grade Mail Medal Best and Fairest Award was Peake’s Gabe Phillips with 30 followed by Pinnaroo’s Micha Vanloon 21, Patrick Barrett (BDT) 17, Lachie Wilson (Peake) 14, Clint Richardson (BDT) 13 and Josh Barrett (Lameroo) 13.
Based on club voting Clint Richardson was considered a favourite for the B & F half way through the season as he had a mortgage on the top of the best player rankings repeatedly. The umpires apparently disagreed with most of his votes gained late in the season. At the same time his team mate, vote magnet Patrick Barrett, received his umpires’ votes early when not featuring as strongly as usual with his club.

Phillips also finished third in the goal kicking although well behind team mate Sam Braidwood 76. Murrayville’s Daniel Fry was second on 58, Phillips kicked 53.

The separate ‘Footballer Of The Year’ award went to Wilson 20 votes from Vanloon, Nick Gregurke (Peake) 13, Phillips 13, Ben Grieger (Lameroo) 13 and Barrett 13.

The Moyle Medal for the Reserves was won by Tom Ball (Lameroo) 20 from Chad Nickolls (Pinnaroo) 17, Pinnaroo’s Scott Hannam 11 and Tom O’Driscoll 10 and Lee Slape (BDT) 10.
Jarryd Finch (Lameroo) won the Goalkicking trophy with 42 ahead of Randall Wilson (Murrayville) 37 and Kyle Challinger (BDT) 34.

BDT’s Nick Croser took out the Senior Colts’ Murdoch Medal with 33 votes with Mark Pederick (Peake) second with 26. Cooper Anderson (BDT) followed on 24, Henry Gibson (Murrayville) 23 and Shane Paech (Karoonda) 18.
Campbell Ballard (Peake) got most goals with 83, BDT’s Billy Finn was close behind with 76, Croser was third with 42 and Gibson kicked 42.

The Rodney Maynard Medal for the Best Under 19 A Grade Player was won by Josh Barrett (Lameroo) 37 votes, Nick Gregurke received 35, Ryan Lewis (Murrayville) 30, Tyson Kennett (BDT) 21 and Ben Gregory (Pinnaroo) 20.

West Adelaide also presented awards to Mallee juniors who had donned the WA guernsey during the season. The Best Underage Player was Karoonda’s Josh Smithson and Under 15 Player Of The Championships Mackenzie Pederick of Peake.

The Lester Cattle Umpires’ Encouragement award went to Adam Perry and Golden Whistle to Peter Miell.