It would be a sure bet that the two mates that had a wager about whose boat was the fastest way back in 1981 had no idea that they were lauching a Dinghy Derby that would grab the interests of a National and International audience.

Now part of the annual Riverland Dinghy Championship the Derby caught the attention of the Red Bull organisation for a sponsorship deal to begin in 2015.
In 2016 that connection has seen the Derby, with all of its thrills and spills through the creeks around Renmark, attract thousands of spectators and feature on National and International media.

The event is now huge and it is perhaps appropriate that one of the stalwarts in recent years, Matt Thur, broke through to win the 2016 race at his tenth attempt. Perhaps unlucky not to be first over the line last year Matt, with his crew Shane Palat, finished over a minute in front of defending champions Kyle and Ryleigh Pfitzner.

In the 30HP Rookie Class the winners were Ben Pilgrim and Jaiden Wilkinson, 30HP Super Standard Matt and Ben Pearce and 30HP Standard Peter Karagiannis and Spiro Dimou.
300cc Class went to Jay and Byron Branson, 25HP Standard to Mark and Tanya Webber and 15HP Standard to John Goodbody and Ian Williamson.

Entries were up from some 60 to 90 this year and came from Australia wide. The exposure the Derby received this year would suggest that growth will continue greatly.