A few days after we wondered at the exciting division one battle for places in the Women`s Pennant finals Men`s Pennants dished up it`s share of surprises last Saturday.
In fact the Division One results could all be billed as ‘upsets’ although Loxton Blue players could argue that their win over Loxton RSL was par for the course.
But the course was Loxton RSL`s home greens.
The 2012/13 finalist now has a lot of work to do to make this season`s major round.
In other matches the two teams that have been the stand outs and short priced as grand final sides, Berri and Renmark, both went down, Berri in it`s first loss for 2013/14.
And to complete the round Renmark RSL had it`s second win for the season defeating ‘finals threat’ of seven days earlier Barmera.
At Waikerie the home side shrugged off an indifferent display against Renmark a week earlier to ambush Berri 84-74 winning three of the four rinks.
Gary Pursche defeated Mark Kubank decisively 26-9 and in two tight contests Roger Davies beat Andrew Hill 19-18 and Wayne Collins – Graham Butt 21-20.
For Berri Kerry Treloar, substituting for her husband Dennis (ill), led her group to a 27-18 win over Andrew Fulwood.
At Loxton the local Red side also pulled off a huge surprise defeating Renmark three rinks to one, 73-59.
Des Schliebs defeated Steve Ivanovic 22-18, John Vaughan just edged out Bill Dopson 17-16 and Terry Thurston won 21-10 over John Thompson.
David Bollenhagen won for Renmark 15-13 against Mike Nugent.
Loxton Blue shared the rinks with it`s host Loxton RSL but Trevor Schulz` four defeating Jade Wright 24-16 and Vic Pavia out pointing Lew Westbrook 28-19 made the difference.
Steve Rose beating Brad Semmler 27-15 and Ken Weeks edging out Peter Kimber 20-19 kept Loxton RSL close.
At Renmark RSL the bottom side brought Barmera back to earth 74-65 although rinks were shared.
For the home team David Ludas defeated John Morena 26-11, Ken Smith defeated Denis Wutke 23-13, Mal Inglis lost to David Mills 17-13 and Mirco DeCol went down to Phil Ashton 25-12.
The Division One table now stands at Berri 282 points, Renmark 244, Loxton Blue 193, Waikerie 188, Loxton RSL 147, Barmera 122, Loxton Red 109 and Renmark RSL 59.
In Division Two there were ‘minor’ upsets results.
Renmark RSL,10th, won 63-50 against Berri Red, seventh and Loxton RSL,11th, defeated Lyrup, sixth, by a whisker 53.5 to 53.
In other matches Monash accounted for Waikerie 68-56, Renmark Gold defeated Berri Blue 67-39, top team Moorook won 71-57 against fifth ranked Renmark Green and Loxton Blue defeated Loxton Green 69-43.
The closest result in Division Three was Renmark just spoiling Renmark RSL`s chance of a hattrick of wins for the day 55 to 54.75.
Other than that positions on the table pretty much dictated the scores including the two leading sides Waikerie Gold and Waikerie Blue winning 59-49 and 67-47 over Monash White and Monash Maroon and third placed Berri Red beating Loxton Orange 82-37.
Barmera Red beat Loxton RSL Blue 67-61, Lyrup defeated Moorook 59-54, Barmera Gold accounted for Loxton RSL Green 71-51, and Loxton Purple for Berri Blue 58-55.
On Sunday many of our top bowlers were back on the greens at Waikerie playing in the Region Four State Singles Sectional tournament.
There were nine sections of four players and in the round robin competitions there were six three game winners with six points.
Lyndoch`s Chris Rule, Waikerie`s Andrew Fulwood, Barry Harden and Wayne Collins, David Leedle and John Thompson from Renmark were all undefeated.
Fulwood`s victories included a 21-12 win over Berri`s State representative Andrew Hill, Harden had a 21-13 win against Berri`s Ken Stokes, Leedle won 21-6 over Robert Thompson (Waikerie) and John Thompson 21-18 against Waikerie`s Gary Pursche.
Others to qualify for the finals with two wins and four points were Loxton RSL`s Jade Wright, Nathan Marslen (Freeling) and Craig Kernich (Loxton RSL).
Equal on points Wright just edged out Renmark`s Eddie Schulz by two shots up and with three players on four points Marslen was four shots up on Dom Catalano (Renmark RSL).
The finals will be played this coming Sunday 19th January back at Waikerie with round one at 8am seeing Barry Harden and Craig Kernich the early birds.
The winner of that match will play Andrew Fulwood in round two along with Jade Wright meeting Nathan Marslen, Wayne Collins – David Leedle and Chris Rule – John Thompson.